My latest pastel artwork ready for the Palace Art-fest exhibition

The original photograph, taken in autumn in Herefordshire, appealed to me as a subject to recreate in pastel. The sunbeams lighting up the forest floor, the dappled bark of the birch in the foreground and the striking autumnal colours were the main features that attracted me.  I  feel I have improved on the original photo by increasing the depth and adding a three dimensional effort that pastel can provide an artist. I used soft pastels and pastel pencils on Artspectrum Colourfix paper. The painting will be for sale at the Palace Art-fest held at the Bishops Palace in Hereford between April 29th and May 2nd 2016. Come along and see not only my work but work from a wide range of local artisans. ivanjonesart.co.uk

Leave a Reply

