I am asked for some advice from an artist in India…..

She asked me to ” give some ideas how to use soft pastels efficiently and effectively”.

What would you say? It is difficult to help in a facebook message I think! However this is what I wrote:

“You can see what sort of pastels and pastel pencils I use on my website www.ivanjonesart.co.uk/materials-used. I start with a pencil outline and work from photographs. I usually work across the page and use transparent film to stop my hand smudging the picture. I experimented with different colours, mixing them on a separate scrap of paper to find the right shade. I also used reference books initially for ideas and styles before developing my own. I have been doing for 15 years since my retirement….hope this is of some help….”

Materials

Leave a Reply

